WSP Announces 25 Journalists Who Will Participate in SACOSAN

In order to recognize and facilitate excellence, accuracy and sensitivity among media professionals (in print, electronic, audio and audiovisual media) who have covered health and sanitation, WSP-SA announced, in collaboration with the Department of Drinking Water Supply (DDWS), Government of India, a Media Partnership Program 2008 to coincide with the International Year of Sanitation.
Applications were invited for fellowships that would allow 25 winners to participate at SACOSAN III – South Asia’s flagship inter-governmental conference on sanitation – being hosted by DDWS, Ministry of Rural Development, Government of India, in New Delhi from November 16 to 21, 2008.
From the applications received, 25 media professionals – four from Bangladesh, six from Pakistan and 15 from India – were chosen for the Media Partnership Program.
Independent juries
In each of the three countries, independent juries representing a mix of development and communication specialists, judged the applications on the following criteria:
  • Quality of content
  • Quality of research
  •  Ability to relate health and environmental sanitation to mainstream socio-economic issues
  • Creativity in approach to, and presentation of, the health, water and sanitation issue  
  • Potential impact on, or outreach to, the public and policymakers
Composition of juries
  • Tareq Salahuddin – Communications Officer,  WaterAid, Bangladesh
  • Shirin Hussain – Program Communications Specialist, UNICEF
  • Saha Dipak Kumar –Senior Advocacy Officer NGO Forum
  • Quamrul Chudhury – Chairman, Forum of Environmental Journalists of Bangladesh (FEJB)
  • Mehrin A. Mahbub – Public Relations Associate, World Bank
  • Jawed Ali Khan – Director General, Ministry of Environment, Government of Pakistan
  • Fayyaz Baqir     -- Senior Advisor on Civil Societies, UNDP
  • Andrew Colin Parker – Chief, Water and Environmental Sanitation (WES), UNICEF, Pakistan
  • Tanya Khan – Social Sector Specialist, RSPN
  • Zia-Ur-Rehman – Former GM, PTV, Islamabad
  • Kalpana Sharma – Independent Journalist/Columnist
  • S.M. Khan – Director General, PIB, and Director, Directorate of Film Festivals, Government of India 
  • Sudip Mozumder – Senior Communications Advisor, World Bank                            
The Winners
The journalists who made the final list and will travel to New Delhi to participate in SACOSAN III and in the Media Partnership Program are:
From Bangladesh
  1. Md Shafiqual Islam, Daily Prothom Alo
  2. Nikhil Chandra Bhadra, Daily Sangbad
  3. Parvin Shakila, Weekly Akota
  4. Shahidul Islam Chowdhury, New Age
 From Pakistan
  1. Shabina Faraz, Jana Group of Publications
  2. Zofeen T. Ebrahim, IPS Asia-Pacific
  3. Sumera Hadi Naqvi, Daily Dawn
  4. Jan M. Khaskheli, The News
  5. Rina Saeed Khan, Friday Times
  6. Aftab Zahoor, Associated Press of Pakistan
 From India
  1. Paromita Shastri, Freelance
  2. Keya Acharya, IPS
  3. Sayli Udas Mankikar, Hindustan Times
  4. Snehasis Das, Independent/Freelance
  5. Teresa Rehman, Tehelka
  6. Atul Deulgaonkar, Loksatta
  7. Manipadma Jena, Freelance
  8. Ashwani Sharma, Indian Express
  9. Anoop Khajuria, Doordarshan
  10. Kalyan Singh Kothari, One World South Asia
  11. Sobhapati Samom, Assam Tribune
  12. Sasidharan Mangathil, Matrubhumi
  13. Atma Prakash Misra, Doordarshan
  14. Shilpi Chakraborty, India Today Group
  15. Varghese C. Thomas, Malayala Manorama
WSP congratulates the winners of the Media Partnership Program. They will be contacted by WSP shortly and we look forward to meeting them in New Delhi at SACOSAN III.
For the selected media professionals, WSP-SA will reimburse:
  • round-trip economy-class airfare / train fare;
  • accommodation (double sharing) for the inclusive dates of stay;
  • fixed per diem for the inclusive number of days of stay; and
  • transportation to and from airport
WSP will reimburse the expenses listed above. All original receipts including air ticket/ train ticket, boarding passes, hotel bill, receipts for transfers between airport and hotel must be submitted for reimbursement.
No other payment, e.g. sight-seeing, shopping, business centre, and all incidental items (mini-bar, telephone calls, etc.) will be made and these shall be at journalists’ own expense, payable on checkout.
All material submitted by participating journalists will not be used for any commercial purposes but will be reproduced in reports, conference proceedings and will be posted on official websites of the organizers and their partners. No material/ submission will be returned to the participating journalists.
Contact Name: 
Geeta Sharma
Contact Email: